Glimpses of Life

Photography, Craft & Travels

I need some ideas :)

21 Comments

So tonight before I got down to scrapping, I decided I needed to organise my scrap area (well actually, it’s more like a heap now). I’ve been buying stuff and have accumulated quite a stash here in Switzerland. šŸ™‚ And one huge contributor to this stash are my Unity Stamps. Hmmmm…. so I decided to start with them first and can you see how much I love rubber! LOL!

First I created sort of like a catalogue for me to refer to rather than look thru every single stamp. And then I took all the stamps out of the ring they came in and they pretty much looked like this.

I ended up with a pile of wood-mounted stamps and a stack of organza bags filled with unmounted stamps. Problem is many of these stamps consists of both wood and unmounted stamps within the same set. So if I wanted to organize them based on wood/unmounted stamps, I would have to split up some of the sets. But then I thought it would be ok since I have the catalogue, right? Right.

At this stage, I pretty much ran out of ideas of how to store my stamps and here’s how they look now…

Not the best way I’m sure… and this is where I need ideas. šŸ™‚ Hmmm… how would you store these stamps?? I want to hear… so just leave a comment here and I have a little surprise – I’ll do a random drawing from all the comments made and I have 3 lil’ stamps from Inque Boutique to give away. šŸ™‚ So post away girls! šŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “I need some ideas :)

  1. OMG!!! hehe..you got lotsa of stamps. if i have so many stamps as you, i will get myself a Hello Kitty 3 tile drawers to store them,since im a Hello Kitty fan.:p
    have a great weeekend!!

  2. I’m not a girl, but i think storing them like storing Legos would be cool.

    It's here!
    LegoOrganizer

    ps: Anne, you should so use this WP theme
    http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2008/08/20/notepad-chaos-a-free-wordpress-theme/

  3. Wow! You really got lots of stamps!!! If I have all these I will buy a shelf to put it. Just like display and easily to view each of them.

  4. I would invest in some of those plastic drawer systems like can be gotten at an office supply store. They have clear plastic drawers and would get the ones with the shallowest drawers and lay them out. You could make sticker notes on the front of the drawer or stamp a design of all that is inside so you can find them quickly.

  5. Storing stamps in shallow drawers with rubber side down works very well. That way you can easily see what you are reaching for.

    RP

  6. Hi!
    Wowsa! What a lot of stamps! I’m so interested. I’m glad you found such a clever way to get your comments ( – ;
    Wishing you well.
    Sharon

  7. unity sells a storage solution for their wood mounteds..hehe :p

    anyway, i think the way you arranged them should work just fine šŸ™‚
    i like the fact that you arranged them one behind another instead of stacking them up. easier to browse that way šŸ™‚

  8. I saw your flickr photos first before heading here. I also have the same problem with my wood-mounted stamps. At the moment they are in transparent containers, and I store according to the company. I think the way you’re storing now is good – easy to find as you’re stacking them one behind the other, instead of upwards – agree with Felicia here. I used to store them in plastic document box-like folders that are available in Popular Bookstore here – that was when I didn’t have that many stamps. šŸ™‚ Guess I’m not much help here. haha. šŸ™‚

  9. Wowsers you have soo many!!!!

    I would love to help you out with some ideas Anne Marie but unfortunately I am not much of a help you see I have mine just thrown into a plastic box that I dig around in when looking for one LOL.

    I hope you find a great idea (may even have to copy)

    Leanne xxx

  10. WOW!!!

    SOooo many stamps…

    I dont have that much stamps, and I keep them in a shelf…. and still have to look one by one to find what I am looking for.

    Hope you find and great idea to share with us!

  11. Gosh AM I am ENVIOUS of your loot LOL – look at all those purty stamps! šŸ™‚ I keep my wood mounted stamps by collection in plastic storage cases (assorted sizes) that are shallow and easily stackable…like these:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/4-NEW-Rubber-Stamp-Plastic-Storage-Cases-Medium-5x4_W0QQitemZ350090475058QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item350090475058&_trkparms=72%3A552%7C39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14
    and inside the top (facing up) I have a trimmed-to-size piece of paper with the images stamped on the paper so I can quickly see what each box holds at a glance. Not very ingenious, I know. šŸ˜‰

  12. Hi AnneMarie! Wow, you have SO many stamps! and that only in Switzerland – I beg at home you have even more šŸ™‚
    Now here my idea: I have my stamps in a clear IKEA box where you can put dividers inbetween just as you like. You can make a pretty index for each of your boxes and stick on top of the box. This way you can easily see through and you can just pack the boxes when (finally) moving back. Does that make sense!?
    hugs
    Britta

  13. Hello šŸ˜‰ How beautiful are all these stamps !! I bought to years ago a furniture made all of wood ! It is 120 cm high with a lot of drawers that are high enough to store stamps šŸ˜‰ When I open one drawer I directly see the pattern of the stamp as they are all stored “lying” ! I painted each drawers in different range of colour (from light to dark color) ! I love it so much if you want I can send you a picture !! I hope you understand my weird english as I’m a french speaker ! Smooches from Belgium šŸ˜‰

  14. wow! what a collection anne marie. šŸ˜€ makes me drool in envy because i also love stamps and my collection occupies more space than any other scrapbooking item i own. right now, i have my unmounted stamps stored in CD cases i got from a local scrapbooking store while my wood mounted stamps are stored lined in a small plastic drawer. i label my CD cases and i store the pictures that came along with my stamps in a small album that serves as my catalog. i hope you’ll be able to store all those lovely stamps in a way that you’ll be able to use them frequently. thanks! šŸ™‚

  15. Hey girl! That’s quite a stash you got goin’ there! Talk about drool worthy!

    Have you checked out the stamp storage system by Little Monkeys? http://www.storemorestamps.com/Instructions/StarterSystem.php
    It seems like it might work for you as you can store the wood mounted stamps that belong to each set in the box right along with the cling sheets. Check it out!

  16. Your pile of Unity stamps look just like mine(LOL)!!! I keep all my wooden cassettes in a plastic shoe box, and then all my organza bags in a large metal cookie tin. Its the only solution I have at the moment but it works for me, easy to look thru & easy to transpot to crops……

  17. Hi! I used to buy small little wooden stamps (as I am working in a pre-school) and I stored them in a transparent pouch. Now I only buy clear stamp for scrapbooking, and I stored them in a drawer, like the way we store CDs, flipping through is very easy.
    Here I like the way you stored your wooden stamps, it is good enough for me šŸ™‚

  18. I would do a 3 ring binder.. and stamp all the images from one set on Computer of CS paper. Then use a cling sheet fro the unmounted.. and just store the wood mounted the way u have them stored now.. But that way if your sets come in unmounted and wood mounted.. you can have them all stamped in one place.. Thats what I plan top do.. when I can finally start getting the untiy stamps.. If you need a picture of what i am saying just email me..

  19. Daiso has lovely lunch boxes that are about 30x15x5. Holds 1-2sets of the unity stamps. Or else there are these multi-drawer things. I have one that is 3x4drawers and each drawer has compartments so you can seperate the um and wooden ones from the same set, then paste the “content page” that comes with the stamps on the front.

  20. Hi there,

    I have many stamp sets – I admit I am a bit of collector and have been buying stamps regularly for the past few years.
    I store all of my rubber stamps in clear CD cases. I print of the unit pics and insert them in the case, so it’s easy to see what is there and when sharing at a crop I can see at a glance that I haven’t lost anything.
    Large stamps are kept on the the white storage sheets you can buy from many locations. These are stored flat in shallow drawers.

    By keeping it compact I can always justify buying just a few more.

    Hope that helps /;~)

  21. Excellent card! Brilliant inspiration! Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

