Glimpses of Life

Photography, Craft & Travels

Siena

4 Comments

Day 4 on our trip to Italy and we headed for Siena.

Siena is a medieval city of brick. From a vantage point such as the Palazzo Pubblico’s tower, its sea of roof tiles blends into a landscape of steep, twisting stone alleys. This cityscape hides dozens of Gothic palaces and pastry shops galore, unseen neighborhood rivalries, and altarpieces of unsurpassed beauty.

Of course the steep hills and narrow streets were no mean feat to navigate. And as said in our guide, there is no shortcut to get from one place to another in Siena, and there are no buses in these narrow streets. πŸ™‚ After arriving, first stop was to find food! πŸ™‚

This is where we had lunch… funny name for a restaurant, ain’t it? And I had my Carpaccio… yumm!

With only one day in the city, we wasted no time in checking in out. After we had the luggages placed in the room, we went out exploring.

There were streets lined with shops and cafes… and especially these specialty food shops. I didn’t have much time to shop but I did get some stuff from here. How could I resist? πŸ™‚

One of the attractions in Siena is the Piazza del Campo, hailed as one of Europe’s most beautiful medieval squares.

It was beautiful, couples and families out strolling and sitting around. We sat for a while too and E had fun with the pigeons. This was also where I captured probably my fav shots of the whole trip. πŸ™‚

Here’s an aerial view of the Piazza I took the internet… beautiful isn’t it?

And this is the Palazzo Pubblico (town hall) which is a palace in the city of Siena.

The medieval cathedral in Siena is the Duomo. It is distinctive in it’s black and white tiles on it’s facade.

And you know what?? I didn’t get a picture of the full building, so here’s one I found.

We managed to see the major sites by the end of the day and early next morning, we would be on the train to Florence. In all, I loved Siena. It was quaint and different from the cities we’ve visited so far. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Siena

  1. AM – your photos literally take me to the places you visited – absolutely stunning. You did a lot of editing on your computer or these are straight from your camera? I hope you’ll come home – you MUST teach me how to get these sort of stunning shots yah? πŸ™‚
    H is getting prettier and prettier!! You’ll have your hands full when she grows up. πŸ™‚
    Hugs to her and E! πŸ™‚

  2. WOW! These are amazing. I want to know how to get these stunning shots too. And how are you going to pick what to scrap? πŸ™‚

  3. How awesome are these photos, especially the last couple of your family – absolutely amazing!!!!
    I am so envious of your little holiday. Hopefully one day my family and I can travel too. One can only hope (and pray)
    Thank you for sharing AnnaMarie

    Leanne πŸ™‚

  4. MORE amazing pics AM – you make me feel like I am right there with you! πŸ˜‰

    And can those pics of Jon and Hannah be any more heartwarming? Those totally brought a smile to my face!

Leave a Reply

