Glimpses of Life

Photography, Craft & Travels

Day 1 – Anaheim

2 Comments

We arrived in LA about 9.30am on 5 Feb. Had quite a long wait at the US immigration checkout coz now they’re doing some finger-printing and taking digital pics of all passengers. After clearing immigration and customs, it was rather fast after that.

I made a car rental reservation before I left home, but the weird thing is the airport does not allow rental companies to have their counters in the airport. So we had to take an airport shuttle out to a parking lot and get picked up from there. S and myself figured we would rent a car


Here I am waiting for the airport shuttle.. the weather was rather cold. πŸ™‚

We got to the rental center and got ourselves a Toyota. After adding all the other charges like insurance etc, the total charge came to US$120!!! I thought that was really kinda steep, but we didn’t have much of a choice – first, we were already out of the airport and couldn’t get the airport shuttle to the hotel anymore. Secondly, we really wanted to drive out to the outlet shopping as we knew we wouldn’t have time any of the other days. πŸ™‚ So there we were, 2 girls in a foreign land, driving off to God-knows-where. Thankfully we had the GPS, a real life-saver, without which I think we would have gotten lost countless times. πŸ™‚

We got to the Camarillo outlet and wasted no time SHOPPING! πŸ™‚ I got mostly clothes and shoes for the kids from Gap, OshKosh B’Gosh, Polo Ralph.. saw a nice pair of pumps at Nine West, but they didn’t have my size. 😦

Anyways, we were done by late afternoon and started making our way to the hotel. The traffic on the way back was BAD!! Plus the fact that I was really tired and sleepy, that didn’t help things at all. I felt like I was dozing off behind the wheel many times. Luckily, S tried to keep me awake, but she was tired too! Anyways, we got to the hotel after 3.5 hours when the ride should’ve only take 2!! We had a quick pizza dine-in and then we were totally zonked out!

That’s day 1. More on day 2 tomorrow. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – Anaheim

  1. I have one of THOSE!!! LOVE my Garmin! She will be helping ME on my trips too. We named ours Betty.

  2. whatever you do – stay off the 405!! Have fun in L.A!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

